Prophecy and the Apocalypse Portfolio

Zombie Inspired Apocalypses Blog

Left 4 Dead 2 (Image)

Every home should have something like this!

I’m a huge believer in being prepared.  I, personally, have been slacking off on my preparation skills, and my husband eats our MRE’s when he is too lazy to cook (I finally got him to stop it though!)  The picture above is a cabinet representing the Left 4 Dead series.  In the case, there is a handgun, a pipe bomb, a health pack and some pills; all of these things are available in the game.

Left 4 Dead and Left 4 Dead 2 are Source-based games created by Valve Corporation.  The games are first person shooter games in which four players work as a team to get through the map.  This franchise has been a huge success for Valve.  In this video game, the zombies are undead, but they can sprint.  Your characters are immune to the zombie scratches, bites, etc.  Throughout the map one can find different weapons, piles of ammo and different types of grenades.  Everyone is different, and these games definitely cater to your fps needs.  A round consists of the completion of one map and can take anywhere from ten minutes to three hours, depending on your team and difficulty level.

My best friend plays at least one round every night to relax, but I cannot relax through this game.  Although I know the ques and what to do/what not to do, I always feel the surge of adrenaline kick in when I see that hoard running towards me.  With my over-active imagination, I get sucked in.  The sounds, the graphics, the special zombies…they all pull me in.  I’m glad that something like the OASIS from the book Ready Player One isn’t around, because I would definitely be using that to play these horror games.  I would probably never see the sunlight again.

Valve also references zombies in other video games such as their very successful Half-Life Franchise.  Half-Life 3 and Left 4 Dead 3 have been announced and their  teams have been listed on their database according to Destructoid.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 8, 2013 by .
